Archive

Monthly Archives: February 2013

Super-Kamiokande Neutrino Detection Experiment, Gifu Prefecture, Japan.

The Dark Arts
A talk for Sonic Acts, Amsterdam, Netherlands
by Honor Harger, 22 February 2013

Credits and References

Thank you to Douglas Kahn, Patrick Gyger, my coleagues at Lighthouse, and all the scientists and artists who inspired this work.

Lighthouse: http://www.lighthouse.org.uk/

Particle Decelerator: http://decelerator.blogspot.co.uk/

Slide Design: Thanks to Jamie Wyld

Title Slide: Super-Kamiokande Neutrino Detection Experiment, Gifu Prefecture, Japan.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Super-Kamiokande

Artworks/projects/quotations referenced in introduction:

data.tron by Ryoji Ikeda (2010) exhibited at transmediale.10, Berlin
Swell by Anthony McCall (2006), exhibited at the Reg Vardy Gallery in Sunderland, as part of AV Festival 2006
from one to many by Yvette Mattern (2010), shown at transmediale.10, Berlin
Immaterials: Light Painting WiFi by Timo Arnall (2011) shown at Invisible Fields, Barcelona 2011-12: http://is.gd/invisible
Geographies of Seeing by Trevor Paglen (2012), exhibited at Lighthouse, October-November 2012
Mesopotamian Dramatugies (Su & Mayhem) by Kutlug Ataman (2011), exhibited at Brighton Festival 2011: http://is.gd/kutlugataman
– Adam Rutherford, speaking at Lighthouse 7 February 2013: http://is.gd/adamrutherford
Frequency & Volume by Rafael Lozano-Hemmer, shown at Invisible Fields: http://is.gd/invisible
levelHead by Julian Oliver (2008) shown at Lighthouse, 2010
Evolution of Fearlessness by Lynette Wallworth shown at Brighton Festival 2011: http://is.gd/lynettewallworth
Laboratory Life produced at Lighthouse, 2011: http://is.gd/laboratory_life
Radio Astronomy by r a d i q u a l i a (2004-2008): http://www.radio-astronomy.net
– China Miéville quoted from “Alien Evasion” by China Miéville, published in Arc 1.1, February 2012: The Future Always Wins: http://is.gd/chinam

Artworks/projects/quotations referenced in Heliocentrics section:

– Quotations by Douglas Kahn from “Radio was discovered before it was invented” (2006): http://rixc.lv/06/en/1.html & http://is.gd/kahnquote
Aeriology by Joyce Hinterding, exhibited at the Reg Vardy Gallery in Sunderland, as part of AV Festival 2008: http://is.gd/aeriology
20Hz by Semiconductor, co-commissioned by Lighthouse for Invisible Fields: http://is.gd/20_hz
5 Minute Oscillations of the Sun by Caroline Devine (2012): http://is.gd/5_minute

My thanks to Douglas Kahn, who’s work inspired the first part of this section, including the anecdote about Thomas Watson.

Artworks/projects referenced in Beyond the Pale Blue Dot section:

Harnessing Wild Electricities from Outer Space by Thomas Ashcraft 2011-12, produced for Invisible Fields: http://is.gd/invisible
Time Dilation Experiments by Thomas Ashcraft: http://is.gd/timedilation
– Radio and Plasma Wave Group at The University of Iowa: http://www-pw.physics.uiowa.edu/
– Jovian Bowshock recorded by Voyager 1: http://is.gd/bowshock
– RWPS antenna, on-board Cassini: http://cassini.physics.uiowa.edu/cassini/hardware.html
sideralia #01 ionosphere by TeZ and Honor Harger, released on leerraum, 2010: http://is.gd/sideralia

Thank you to Thomas Ashcraft, Don Gurnett and his team the University of Iowa and TeZ.

Artworks/projects referenced in The Outer Limits section:

– Projects by Katie Paterson: http://www.katiepaterson.org/
Works referenced:
Ancient Darkness TV (2009)
100 Billion Suns (2011)
Light bulb to Simulate Moonlight (2008)
All the Dead Stars (2009)
– Quotation by Katie Paterson from “Interview with Katie Paterson on Rhizome” (2010): http://rhizome.org/editorial/2010/jun/16/interview-with-katie-paterson/

Artworks/projects/quotations referenced in Quantum Leap section:

– Quotation by Neil Turok from “The Cyclic Universe: A Talk With Neil Turok” on Edge (2007): http://www.edge.org/3rd_culture/turok07/turok07_index.html
Loop System Quintet by Conrad Shawcross (2006): http://conradshawcross.com/
The Particle Windchime by Matt Bellis and collaborators: http://www.mattbellis.com/windchime/
– BABAR – high energy physics experiment at SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory: http://www-public.slac.stanford.edu/babar/
– Quotations by Matt Bellis from “Particle Physics Windchime” on Particle Decelerator (2011): http://decelerator.blogspot.nl/2011/06/particle-physics-wind-chime.html
– The LHC Sound Project: http://lhcsound.hep.ucl.ac.uk/
– Quotation by Lily Asquith from “Particle Pings: Sounds Of The Large Hadron Collider” by Andrew Prince, NPR (2011): http://is.gd/asquith
– LHC Sound Project interpretation of how an emerging and decaying Higgs Boson may sound: http://is.gd/lhcsound

Advertisements