Listening to the Universe

Listening to the Universe
A talk for Singapore Art Museum
by Honor Harger, 5 September 2014

Credits and References

Thank you to all the artists and scientists who inspired this talk.

Particle Decelerator: http://decelerator.blogspot.co.uk/

Title slide: The Australian Square Kilometre Array Pathfinder (ASKAP): http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Australian_Square_Kilometre_Array_Pathfinder

Artworks/projects/quotations referenced in introduction:

data.tron by Ryoji Ikeda (2010) exhibited at transmediale.10, Berlin
Swell by Anthony McCall (2006), exhibited at the Reg Vardy Gallery in Sudnerland, as part of AV Festival 2006
from one to many by Yvette Mattern (2010), shown at transmediale.10, Berlin
Evolution of Fearlessness by Lynette Wallworth shown at Brighton Festival 2011: http://is.gd/lynettewallworth
Geographies of Seeing by Trevor Paglen (2012) at Lighthouse, October-November 2012: http://is.gd/paglen
Mesopotamian Dramatugies (Su & Mayhem) by Kutlug Ataman (2011), exhibited at Brighton Festival 2011: http://is.gd/kutlugataman
Frequency & Volume by Rafael Lozano-Hemmer, shown at Invisible Fields: http://is.gd/invisible
– Honor Harger and Adam Willets, photographed at the Acoustic Space Lab, Latvia, 2001: http://acoustic.space.re-lab.net/lab/
Frequency Clock – tactical radio system by r a d i o q u a l i a (1998-2002): http://v2.nl/archive/works/the-frequency-clock
Frequency Clock being used to create thing.fm, New York, 2002: http://fm.thing.net/

Polar Radio by r a d i o q u a l i a and I-TASC, Antarctica, 2007: http://is.gd/polar_radio

Radio Astronomy by r a d i o q u a l i a (2004-2008): http://www.radio-astronomy.net

Artworks/projects/quotations referenced in first section:

– Quotations by Douglas Kahn from “Radio was discovered before it was invented” (2006): http://rixc.lv/06/en/1.html & http://is.gd/kahnquote
Aeriology by Joyce Hinterding, exhibited at the Reg Vardy Gallery in Sunderland, as part of AV Festival 2008: http://is.gd/aeriology

20Hz by Semiconductor, co-commissioned by Lighthouse for Invisible Fields: http://is.gd/20_hzMy

Thanks to Douglas Kahn, who’s work inspired the first part of this section, including the anecdote about Thomas Watson.

Artworks/projects/quotations referenced in Beyond the second section:

Harnessing Wild Electricities from Outer Space by Thomas Ashcraft 2011-12, produced for Invisible Fields: http://is.gd/invisible
Time Dilation Experiments by Thomas Ashcraft: http://is.gd/timedilation
– Quotations by Thomas Ashcraft from an interview on National Public Radio, quoted in “Thomas Ashcraft: Artist as Electro-receptor” (2009): http://www.improvisedlife.com/2009/11/17/thomas-ashcraft-artist-as-electroreceptor/

 

Works/projects/quotations referenced in final section:

– Kepler-37b story via “NASA’s Kepler Mission Discovers Tiny Planet System”, 20 February 2013: http://www.jpl.nasa.gov/news/news.php?release=2013-066
5 Minute Oscillations of the Sun by Caroline Devine (2012): http://is.gd/5_minute
– BiSON, the School of Physics and Astronomy at the University of Birmingham: http://bison.ph.bham.ac.uk/index.php?page=bison

The three anecdotes about Bell Labs:

– referenced in TED talk: http://is.gd/harger  

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: