Something Invisible in the Landscape is Just Landscape

Something Invisible in the Landscape is Just Landscape
A talk for FutureEverything
http://futureeverything.org/summit/conference/
Manchester, 22 March 2012

Credits and References

Sincere thanks to: José Luis de Vicente, James Bridle, Julian Oliver, Trevor Paglen, Adam Rutherford, Timo Arnall, and all the other artists, scientists and technologists cited.

Lighthouse: http://www.lighthouse.org.uk/

Particle Decelerator: http://decelerator.blogspot.co.uk/

Talk Title: Quote from China Miéville (see below)

Slide Design: Thanks to Jamie Wyld

Title Slide: Screenshot of Immaterials: Light Painting WiFi by Timo Arnall (2011) (see below)

Artworks/projects referenced in Introduction:

Mesopotamian Dramatugies (Su & Mayhem) by Kutlug Ataman (2011), exhibited at Brighton Festival 2011: http://is.gd/kutlugataman
Evolution of Fearlessness by Lynette Wallworth shown at Brighton Festival 2011: http://is.gd/lynettewallworth – Laboratory Life (2011): http://is.gd/laboratory_life
– Happenstance (2012) – residencies for creative technologists: http://www.lighthouse.org.uk/programme/happenstance-residencies-for-technologists
data.tron [8K enhanced version] by Ryoji Ikeda (2008-09): http://www.ryojiikeda.com/project/datamatics/#datatron_8k_enhanced_version
levelHead by Julian Oliver (2008) shown at Suspending Disbelief, Lighthouse, 2010: http://www.lighthouse.co.uk/programme/suspending-disbelief
Genesis by Eduardo Kac (1999): http://www.ekac.org/transgenicindex.html
– Media art prequels website by Golan Levin: http://www.flong.com/blog/2009/new-media-artworks-prequels-to-everyday-life/

Artworks/projects referenced in Part 1:

– Cloud computing survey commissioned by Citrix, August 2012: http://www.citrix.com/lang/English/lp/lp_2328330.asp
– The proposed Center for Innovation, Testing and Evaluation, New Mexico: http://www.forumforthefuture.org/greenfutures/articles/worlds-first-city-robots
– China Miéville quoted from “Alien Evasion” by China Miéville, published in Arc 1.1, February 2012: The Future Always Wins: http://is.gd/chinam
Invisible Fields (2011), co-curated by José Luis de Vicente and Honor Harger and at Arts Santa Monica, Barcelona: http://www.lighthouse.org.uk/programme/invisible-fields
20Hz by Semiconductor (2011): http://www.lighthouse.org.uk/programme/semiconductor-20-hz
Frequency & Volume by Rafael Lozano-Hemmer
Immaterials: Light Painting WiFi by Timo Arnall and collaborators (2011) shown at Invisible Fields, Barcelona 2011-12: http://vimeo.com/20412632
– Timo Arnall quoted in No to NoUI by Timo Arnall, March 2013: http://www.elasticspace.com/2013/03/no-to-no-ui

Artworks/projects referenced in Part 2:

Geographies of Seeing (2012) by Trevor Paglen, co-curated by Honor Harger and Celia Davies, at Lighthouse: http://www.lighthouse.org.uk/programme/trevor-paglen-geographies-of-seeing
Paglen works shown:
– Artifacts (Spacecraft in Perpetual Geosynchronous Orbit, 35,786 km Above Equator) (2010)
KEYHOLE 12-3 (IMPROVED CRYSTAL) Optical Reconnaissance Satellite Near
Scorpio (USA 129) (2007)
PAN (Unknown; USA-207) (2010)
KEYHOLE IMPROVED CRYSTAL from Glacier Point (Optical Reconnaissance
Satellite; USA 1860) (2008)
After Galileo (Jupiter and Moons)
They Watch the Moon (2010)
National Reconnaissance Office Ground Station (ADF-SW) Jornada del Muerto, New Mexico (2012)
N5177C at Gold Coast Terminal Las Vegas, NV; Distance ~ 1 mile (2007)
Detachment 3, Air Force Flight Test Center #2, Groom Lake, NV, Distance ~26 Miles (2008)
Reaper Drone, Indian Springs, NV Distance ~ 2 miles (2010)
– Trevor Paglen quoted in “Secret Moons and Black Worlds”, An Interview with Trevor Paglen by Timothy Moore, Volume #25: http://roryhyde.com/blog/?p=697
– Trevor Paglen quoted in, “Limit Telephotography”, Under Fire research forum, 2006: http://underfire.eyebeam.org/?q=node/469

Artworks/projects referenced in Part 3:

– William Gibson quoted in Spooky Country (2007): http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Spook_Country
Hercules Missile Landscape by Mariele Neudecker (2010), being shown at Lighthouse for Brighton Festival 2013: http://www.lighthouse.org.uk/programme/lighthouse-at-brighton-festival
Drone images:
– Northrop Grumman RQ-4 Global Hawk: http://is.gd/globalhawk
– A drone pilot at the base at Hancock Field. Image: Heather Ainsworth for The New York Times: http://is.gd/droneoperator
Untitled (Predators; Indian Springs, NV) by Trevor Paglen (2010)
– Cameras and imaging devices aboard drone aircraft. Image: http://is.gd/dronecamera
Dronestagram (2012-12) by James Bridle: http://dronestagram.tumblr.com/
Drone Shadow (2012) by James Bridle: http://shorttermmemoryloss.com/portfolio/project/drone-shadows/
Under the Shadow of the Drone (2013) by James Bridle: http://www.lighthouse.org.uk/programme/james-bridle-under-the-shadow-of-the-drone
– James Bridle quoted in Drone Shadows, 2012: http://booktwo.org/notebook/drone-shadows/
– Julian Oliver quoted in in Rhizome, September 2012: http://is.gd/juliansaid

Artworks/projects referenced in conclusion:

– “Multi-Input RNAi-Based Logic Circuit for Identification of Specific Cancer Cells” by Xie, Wroblewska, Prochazka, Weiss & Benenson, Science, 2 September 2011, Vol. 333: http://www.sciencemag.org/content/333/6047/1307.abstract
– Adam Rutherford, speaking at Lighthouse 7 February 2013: http://is.gd/adamrutherford & http://is.gd/adamrutherfordtalk (discusses RNAi-Based Logic Circuit 50:00 minutes in)
SolarSinter by Markus Kayser (2012): http://www.markuskayser.com/work/solarsinter/
Hostage pt.1 by Frederik de Wilde (2010): http://frederik-de-wilde.com/projects/nano-painting
Bacterial Radio by Joe Davis: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Joe_Davis_(artist)
Protei by Cesar Harada (2012): http://protei.org/
Environmental Health Clinic by Natalie Jeremijenko:
http://www.environmentalhealthclinic.net/
City CPU by Gordan Savi?i? (2011): http://www.yugo.at/processing/index.php?what=citycpu
New Mumbai by Tobias Revell (2012): http://www.tobiasrevell.com/New-Mumbai

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: